2018 Voter Information

Wake Commissioners & School Board to run in 2018

In 2013, the NC legislature redrew the Wake County school board and commissioner districts. Those maps were thrown out by a District Court judge in 2016 and elections proceeded under the districts drawn after the 2010 census. You can read about the 2016 elections below. While the maps drawn in 2013 were thrown out, the judge still allowed the legislature to take another stab at them. It has been over a year and we are still waiting on new maps. We expected to see them in the fall of 2017 but no new maps have been drafted so candidates have filed to run in districts used since 2010. Part of Senate Bill 325 also put all 7 commissioner seats and all 9 school board seats on the same election cycle, ending a historical trend of staggered terms. It is egregious that the NC legislature has put these boards in a position to potentially flip with one election cycle. Staggered terms protect institutional knowledge and experience and is good governance.Wake commission candidates filed in February and all 7 incumbents filed to run. There was a primary for 5 of the incumbents; results below. School board candidates will file June 11th- July 6th.

Wake County 2016 Election Changes

Vote button

In 2013, the NC legislature redrew the Wake County school board districts and changed how board members get elected. That legislation, Senate Bill 325, put all 9 school board seats on the November 8, 2016 ballot. It is unprecedented and an example of poor governance to have all board member seats of North Carolina’s largest school system run in a single election. Voters are at a disadvantage when local, non partisan elections are put on the same cycle as general elections. It is hard for local candidates to communicate their message and equally as hard for voters to hear those messages through the noise of national and statewide races.

Wake County 2018 Primary

Primary Candidates for Wake County Commission:

All seven seats of the Wake County Commission will be on the ballot in November this year. County commissioners provide local funding for our public schools including capital funds for our buildings. Five incumbents running for re-election had primary challengers in the May 8th primary. Results are below.

  • District 1: Sig Hutchinson (incumbent, reelected)
  • District 1: Jeremiah Pierce (challenger)
  • District 2: Matt Calabria (incumbent, reelected)
  • District 2: Lindy Brown (challenger)
  • District 4: Erv Portman (incumbent)
  • District 4: Susan Evans (challenger, elected)
  • District 5: James West (incumbent, reelected)
  • District 5: Robert Finch (challenger)
  • District 7: John Burns (incumbent)
  • District 7: Vickie Adamson (challenger, elected)
  • Districts 3 & 6 did not have primary races

Important Facts on voting in NC: 

  • You will not need an ID to vote in 2018.
  • There is no straight ticket voting.  You must mark every single candidate and turn the ballot over to finish voting.
  • *Same day registration is available ONLY during Early Voting. Click here for what to bring with you to register to vote during Early Voting.
  • Eligible voters can vote in one of three ways: on Election Day, absentee by mail, or at an early voting location

Important Resources:

Wake Co. Board of Elections: www.wakegov.com/elections

Not sure if you’re registered at your current address? Need to find your polling place? Want to see your sample ballot? Visit: http://www.wakegov.com/elections/voters/Pages/default.aspx

Mailing AddressPO Box 695
Raleigh, NC  27602
Physical Address337 S. Salisbury St.
Raleigh, NC  27601
Hours of OperationMonday–Friday
8:30 a.m.–5:15 p.m.
919-856-5864 (fax)

Democracy North Carolina: http://www.democracy-nc.org/

Can answer any question on voting rights, process, rules, dates, etc.
1821 Green Street, Durham, NC 27705-4114
Phone:  919-286-6000 or 1-888-OUR-VOTE
Fax: 919-286-6023
Email: info@democracy-nc.org