Take Action! School Board Redistricting Bill Passes Senate

Posted by on Apr 29, 2013 in Breaking News | 0 comments

On April 22, 2013, the NC Senate passed SB 325 with a 33-17 vote along party lines.  The bill now moves to the House for consideration.

The bill calls for the following:

  • Seven board members elected by district; two members elected at-large. All will ultimately serve four-year terms, beginning in July (formerly December).
  • All nine seats will be up for election in 2016
    • Candidates who win seats up for election this year (Districts 1, 2, 7, 9) will serve only a two and one-half-year term.
    • The terms of board members elected in 2011 (Districts 3, 4, 5, 6, 8) will be extended by seven months.
    • At-large seats will be up for election in 2016, then up again in 2018 for a full four-year term.

Senators Josh Stein and Dan Blue both spoke passionately against the passage of this bill. Senator Blue summed it up this way:

“It offends me to the quick.  It makes me want to yell.”

Click here to hear Sen. Blue’s full comments (start 19:05/end 34:10)

Senator Stein commented: ”These maps were drawn without public input, against the will of the school board, and for transparently partisan reasons.”  Click here to hear Sen. Stein’s full comments on SB 325.

Call or write to Wake County House members TODAY.
Ask your friends & family to do the same.
We must stop this interference in local representation!
  1. Marilyn Avila – 919-280-6084 – Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net
  2. Nelson Dollar –  919-233-8399 – Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net
  3. Jim Fulghum – 919-784-0129 – Jim.Fulghum@ncleg.net
  4. Rosa Gill – 919-821-0425 – Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net
  5. Duane Hall – 919-582-2111 – Duane.Hall@ncleg.net
  6. Yvonne Holley – 919-828-3873 – Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net
  7. Darren Jackson – 919-733-5974 – Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net
  8. Chris Malone – 919-395-4903 – Chris.Malone@ncleg.net
  9. Tom Murry – 919-865-9993 – Tom.Murry@ncleg.net
  10. Deborah Ross – 919-832-6508 – Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net
  11. Paul Stam – 919-362-8873 – Paul.Stam@ncleg.net

To email all House members: housee-mail@ncleg.net

Your talking points:
  • This bill was neither requested by citizens nor the Wake County School Board. What happened to reducing “big government?” Passing this bill opens up the floodgates for similar legislation across the state.
  • Districts were just redrawn after the 2010 Census. Redrawing them so soon after is costly.  Taxpayers will have to foot the bill for for new Wake County voter cards (upwards of $200,000) and for costly litigation that is likely to occur.
  • The bill does not increase representation for voters, with its two proposed at-large districts.  In fact, the chance that children won’t attend a school in the district where their family lives increases. 
  • Redrawing lines that racially polarize the community does harm to our county. One of the at-large districts proposed creates a minority district.
  • Why not support a statewide proposal such as House Bill 606, Nonpartisan Redistricting Process, which offers a logical, cost effective approach to redistricting?